Guide to Vegan Halloween Candy

Guide to Vegan Halloween Candy

Halloween can be a tricky time of year for vegans…many of the treats that are handed out on October 31st contain ingredients derived from animals, like dairy products or gelatin. Others contain different versions of the extremely destructive ingredient, palm oil, which we urge you to stay away from as well! (Learn more about it in this article from an edition of our magazine, Action Line)

Luckily, vegan candy is pretty easy to find in the store…if you know what you’re looking for! That’s why we’ve compiled this list of some of our favorite 100% vegan candies to help you out this season. We’re definitely not saying they’re necessarily healthy…but they’re a good choice if you’re in the mood for a little sugary junk food. We’ve also included a couple of healthier alternatives to these sugar bombs as well at the bottom of the list. You can also include your canine companions in Halloween celebrations by giving them some plant-based, gourmet treats for themselves! Check out our new cookbook, For the Love of Dog BIscuits, which has recipes for every month of the season. 

P.S. If you’re not sure a candy is vegan, a good rule of thumb is to check for these ingredients which are made from animal products: gelatin, carmine color, and confectioner’s glaze.